Wacom Cintiq 13HD

I am thankful for this new Wacom Cintiq 13HD which I got for work. I’m trying to get used to the feeling of the device’s screen underneath my palm and the sensitivity of the pen in my fingers. For someone who has never used a wacom system before, I anticipate a tough learning curve, but it seems, as I finished my first sketch with Photoshop CC 2017, the experience with the device is as close as drawing with pencil and paper on a diagonal book stand.

The Ancient Cintiq vs the new iPad Pro
People are used to the concept that the more expensive the gadget is, the better the functionality and usability. This is obviously does not apply to this scenario. The 5+ year old Cintiq works better than the 2016 iPad Pro on Duet Display when drawing with Photoshop CC. The Wacom Pen does not glide over the Cintiq display as smoothly as the Apple Pencil does on the iPad Pro. Thanks to the specially-made Cintiq display, it almost feels like drawing on a special kind of paper, unlike the “plastic-over-glass” experience on iPad Pro.

The lack of a touch-responsive display doesn’t seem to be a major letdown, as a matter of fact. I programmed the wacom directional button to perform zoom in, out, undo and redo commands to make up for the lack of touch gestures, and so far, everything goes in perfect sync with my usual workflow.

My only complaint is the device’s compatibility mismatch with some software. Clip Studio Paint doesn’t work very well with this, though I might just need to reinstall this or update drivers, or something. But it didn’t work right off the bat, unlike Photoshop which launched smoothly with no lags or bugs right off the bat.

First of Many
The featured image for this post, as you can see, is drawn using the Cintiq. I see no reason to upgrade to the latest Pro models at this time, though I’ve not tried the newer ones before. I gave this sketch the title “First of Many” since I’m currently focused on getting used to drawing with this device in order to improve.

Sorry if my writing is not good at this time. For some reason, I can’t seem to string decent words and phrases together like how I used to. I may be out of practice. Must write more soon.

 

xoxo

Leave a comment

Website Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑